Wordbound · Writing

Wordbound Week 23

This week’s Wordbound prompt is:   Include a mirror as an integral part of your scene.  I started a short story inspired by an episode of Charmed and the thoughts I have every day wondering what would be going on right now if Hillary Clinton was president.

An Excerpt

Melinda arrived home and sat her bags on the kitchen counter.  She hung up her keys, slipped off her shoes, and unpacked her groceries.  And that’s when she heard the voice coming from the other room.

“Hello?” the voice said.  Melinda froze.  Then she heard it again.  She picked up a knife and held it out in front of her before walking into her bedroom.  She didn’t see anyone.  Then she heard the voice again, from behind her.  She spun around and saw what, at first, she thought was her reflection in the mirror hanging on the wall.  Until she realized that the woman staring back at her was wearing different clothes and didn’t move at the same time she did.

“You don’t need the knife,” the woman in the mirror said, “I can’t come over there.  I tried.”

“That’s not creepy at all,” Melinda said.  But she lowered the knife.

They stared at each other.

“What is this?” Melinda asked, “What’s happening?”

“I don’t know,” the woman in the mirror said, “I walked into my bedroom earlier and I realized that I couldn’t see my reflection.  I looked closer and I noticed that what I was seeing wasn’t an exact reflection of my bedroom.  It was my room, but there were things that were a little bit off.  I kept watching, but nothing happened.  Then I heard you.”

Melinda walked over to the mirror and held up her hand.  She touched the mirror, half-expecting her hand to slip through it, but it was just normal glass.  The woman in the mirror stood back, watching her.

“Why is this happening?” Melinda whispered to herself, “Am I going crazy?”

“I’ve felt like I’ve been going crazy since November,” the woman in the mirror said, “Maybe I’ve finally snapped.”

“November?” Melinda said.

“Since the election,” she answered.

“The election?” Melinda said, shaking her head in confusion, “Why would…”

She stopped what she was saying and stared at the other woman.

“He won?” Melinda said, horrified.

The woman in the mirror stared back at her.

“He did,” she said, “and it’s been exhausting.”

Writing Goal Updates

I didn’t do much writing yet this week, but I planned on making today a writing day.  There are a couple chapters at the beginning of my story that should be pretty short, so I should be able to get at least one chapter done today.  I haven’t written much this month in general, but I’m planning on working a lot this week.

One thought on “Wordbound Week 23

  1. Ohhh, so the mirror woman was unlucky like us u.u it’s nice to see a short story that involves a mirror version of our world not turn into them wanting to take over our lives (though in this case, I’d understand if they did, lol). Glad to see you’re still keeping up with the wordbound prompts. I’m trying to get back into the now ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

