Wordbound · Writing

Wordbound Week 22

This week’s Wordbound prompt was: Make three writing related confessions.

  1.  I don’t think I’ve shared any of my writing with anyone outside of this project,      school, and that brief period I dabbled in writing fanfiction.
  2. I desperately need a job, but I don’t know where to start outside of writing.  It’s the only thing I know I want to do and I’d much rather be at home writing than working somewhere else.  It isn’t why I don’t have a job (I’d take almost anything at this point), but it would be nice to have something else that I knew I wanted to do that I could work toward.
  3. I made a goal awhile ago to start trying to get something published when I was 25, which means I have a little over a year to get something to the point that I’m ready to share it.  I doubt I’ll have something done well enough by that time and sometimes I think I should wait longer and give myself more time to allow my writing to improve, but I’m afraid that if I do, I’ll just keep putting it off and never publish anything.

 

Writing Goal Updates

I didn’t do much actual writing this week, but I finished my outline to the point that I should be ready to start writing the next draft of my story.  I don’t like doing too much outlining because I tend to get distracted trying to figure out every little detail and it takes way too long and I never start writing, but I needed to do some outlining for this.

Basically, I had several separate stories that I planned to intertwine and I thought it would be easier to write a rough draft of each story first, and then bring them all together.  I finished the drafts of these stories, so then I had to smash them together.  I had to figure out the timeline and where each story would intersect with the others and make sure I didn’t have an overlapping character in two places at once.  It’s still a very basic outline, but it shows the entire story in chronological order, so I’m ready to start from the beginning and write the whole thing.  This is the most excited I’ve been about a writing project in a long time and I’m so happy to finally feel like I’m making progress.

Leave a Reply

