Personal

Superheroes

This week was rough.  I don’t want to go into the details, but there are parts of my life that I’m not very happy with and right now I don’t have the means to change them.  I’m working on it, but it will take some time.  So, for now, I just have to try to make the best of the situation.

For a long time, I’d been very unfocused in my writing.  I’d scribble down an idea when it popped into my head and then work on it for a bit until the next idea came along and then I would move on.  So at the beginning of the year, I decided to narrow my focus and work on three different projects.  My two favorites that I’ve stuck with the longest, and a third that was meant to be the comic relief if I got tired of the drama of the other two. But it quickly became apparent that the third project just wasn’t going to work.  I just couldn’t focus on something that was solely meant to be upbeat and happy and ignorant of the problems of the world.  Eventually, in my determination to actually finish something, I decided to focus only on a story I’ve been writing about superheroes.

It was obvious why that story spoke to me the most.  Every day a new, terrifying news story comes out and it’s hard to focus on anything else.  I couldn’t write that happy story when I felt like the world was crumbling around me.  But I could write about people trying to fix the world’s problems.  I think we could all use some superheroes to believe in right now.

I went to see Wonder Woman today and I realized why this story had become so important to me.  For the two hours I sat in that theater, I actually got to take a break from everything and see a glimpse of hope.  There are a lot of terrible things going on in the world right now, but there are also a lot of people fighting for good.  And that’s the story I need to be writing.  I need to see the superheroes fighting to change the world.

I didn’t write much this week, but I feel more determined than ever to continue this story and, eventually, share it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

