Wordbound · Writing

Wordbound Week 21

This week’s Wordbound prompt was:  “It’s time to leave.  And there’s no coming back.”  I continued the short story I’ve been working on.

An Excerpt

“What are you doing?” her mother asked when she saw the sword.

“Ending this,” Meredith said, brushing past them toward the stairs.

Clarissa stopped her at the front door.

“Meredith, you can’t do this,” she said, “You’re not ready.  He’s too strong.  There’s a reason none of the others have defeated him.”

“Which is why I’ve trained harder than any of the others.  If I’m not ready now, I’m not going to be.  So I can sit here and wait for him to find me and let him keeping hurting other people, or I can take the fight to him.  I’m tired of waiting,” Meredith said.

She opened the door and left her mother and sister behind.  The streets were empty.  Everyone knew better than to be out this late while he was still out there.  She walked down the deserted street until, suddenly, a man appeared a few yards away.

“So, you’re the one?” he said, “The people of this town really need to choose their champions more carefully.  You really think you can defeat me?”

“I can,” she said, feigning confidence, “I know I can.”

“You won’t,” he said, “I’m not going anywhere.”

“It’s time for you to leave.  And there’s no coming back,” she said, “Not this time.”

“We’ll see,” he said.  He drew his sword and walked toward her.

Writing Goal Updates

I didn’t get much writing done this week, but I got a bit of outlining done.  The project I’m working on involves several intertwining stories.  In the first draft, I wrote them separately , so, before starting a new draft, I need to figure out exactly how they all fit together.  I’m hoping to finish the outlining next week and get started on the next draft.  I didn’t have as much time to work on it this week as I was a bit busier than usual, but now I finally have an actual desk to work at, so that might help me stay organized and get more writing done.

Leave a Reply

