Wordbound · Writing

Wordbound Week 19

This week’s Wordbound prompt was: Make a character overreact to something. I used it to start a new short story.

An Excerpt

Meredith got home from school and went directly to her bedroom to get started on her homework.  She neatly stacked all of her books and notebooks on her desk in the order she would need them.  She propped up her first book, opened a notebook, and reached for her favorite pencil.  Pink and sparkly with a fluffy pom-pom on the end.  But it wasn’t there.

She searched the whole desk, then the whole room.  Then she went downstairs, but it wasn’t on the dining room table, the only other place she does her homework.  But she still couldn’t find it.  Her mother came in with a pizza for dinner, walked into the kitchen, and saw Meredith standing there.  Her younger sister, Amy, was following right behind her.

“Where is it?” Meredith asked.

“Where’s what?” Amy said.

“My pencil,” Meredith said, “The pink one.  Where is it?”

“How would I know?” Amy said.

“You know,” Meredith insisted, “Every time I haven’t been able to find something, you have it.  What did you do with it?”

“Meredith, I’m sure your sister doesn’t have it,” their mother said, “You must have misplaced it.”

“I’ve looked everywhere and I can’t find it,” Meredith said, “She has it.”

Amy stood beside their mother, blankly staring at Meredith.  She could tell that, as usual, their mother was going to take Amy’s side.  Meredith had had enough.

“NO,” Meredith yelled, “Not this time.  You aren’t going to just take her side and make me feel like I’m crazy.  I’m not crazy.”

“Meredith,” her mother cautioned.

She marched over to her mother and took the pizza from her, then ran up the stairs with it.

“What are you doing?” her mother yelled after her.

“No one gets this pizza until I have my pencil,” Meredith yelled over her shoulder before slamming her bedroom door behind her.

Writing Goal Updates

I didn’t write as much this week as last week, but it was still a good writing week.  I finished two chapters of my project and started a third.  I want to finish the first draft of this story in the next couple of weeks, and it should be possible if I keep going at the rate I have been.

Leave a Reply

