Wordbound · Writing

Wordbound Week 16

This week’s Wordbound prompt is: Make two characters unwillingly hold hands.  I continued the short story I started last week.

An Excerpt

Caleb stopped walking and started to turn around.  Izzie grabbed his arm to stop him, but he turned anyway.

“Why are you following us?” he asked.

The young woman froze.  Izzie stared at her.

“Did you know Jenna?” she asked.

“Yes,” the young woman said, “We were friends.  I saw you coming out of her building.  I thought…”

“We’re private investigators,” Izzie explained, “Jenna’s mother wants to know what happened to her.  What’s your name?”

“Chloe,” she said.

“Do you know of anyone who might have wanted to hurt Jenna?” Izzie asked.

“No,” Chloe said, “I’ve been wracking my brain trying to figure this out, but I just don’t know.”

“Okay,” Izzie said, handing Chloe her card, “If you think of anything, anything at all, please let me know.”

“I will,” Chloe said.  They all went their separate ways.

Izzie and Caleb met up again the next morning at a diner.  They were waiting for their food when Caleb suddenly grabbed Izzie’s hand.

“What are you doing?” Izzie said, as he grabbed her hand.

“Please,” he said, “My ex just walked in.  Play along?”

Izzie rolled her eyes, but clasped their hands together on the table.  She glanced in the direction Caleb was looking, and saw that the woman he was watching was looking right back at them.  She looked worried.

Writing Goal Updates

I didn’t do much writing this week, but I did a bit of outlining and made a little progress.

Leave a Reply

