Wordbound · Writing

Wordbound Week 14

This week’s Wordbound prompt was:  Feature a couple of your writing friends!  How do you inspire each other?

For me, my writing has always been an extremely private thing, so I haven’t really found any writing friends.  Most of my friends either don’t know that I write, aren’t writers themselves, or live far away. But after three months of sharing just small snippets of things I’ve written in these blog posts, I’m feeling a lot better about sharing my writing. I’m planning on starting to share more outside of this blog someday soon.  I’m going to have to get used to it if I ever want to actually publish something I’ve written.

Writing Goal Updates

I wrote more this week than I have in the last couple weeks, working on a short story and finishing a chapter.  I didn’t write as much as I wanted to, but it’s a step in the right direction.  I also officially made the decision to focus solely on one story at a time.  I have a lot of ideas for things I want to write, and bouncing between them wasn’t getting me anywhere, so I thought narrowing it down to just a few to focus on would help, and it did a bit, but I’ve realized that I need to just focus on one at a time and actually finish it before moving on. This is a problem for me in general, not just in my writing.  I’ll make a to do list and start one thing, but move on to something else before finishing it, and then at the end of the day I’m stuck with several half-finished tasks.  I think I’m about halfway done with the first draft of the project I’ve chosen, so hopefully staying focused on this one thing will help me finish it in a reasonable amount of time.

Leave a Reply

