Wordbound · Writing

Wordbound Week 12

This week’s Wordbound prompt was:  Pick a tweet from a friend and find a way to incorporate all words into your scene.  I decided to just go with someone who I enjoy following on Twitter and chose this tweet:

fight trump read a book

An Excerpt

“How are you?” Kevin said.

“Great,” Becca said, “You haven’t seen a bunch of envelopes lying around anywhere, have you?  With a big number two on them?”

“No, I haven’t,” he said, “So what have you been up to lately?”

“Umm…well,” she said, “Andy, Vanessa, and I are trying to start a bakery.”

“A bakery?” he said skeptically, “That’s…cute.”

“What?” Becca said, rolling her eyes, “What’s wrong with that?”

“Nothing,” he said, “It’s just…I think you could do so much more with your life than open some silly little bakery.”

Becca took a deep breath.

“I really don’t want to fight about this right now, Kevin.  We did enough fighting when we were actually a couple.  Let’s just agree that I’m going to do whatever I want regardless of how silly you think it is and move on,” Becca said.

“Fine,” Kevin said.

Becca looked around the room, but she didn’t see Vanessa or Andy anywhere.

“You didn’t ask me what I’ve been up to,” Kevin said.

Becca rolled her eyes again.

“What have you been up to?” she asked.

“I’m writing a book,” he said, “Well, a memoir really.  About my life.  My experiences.”

In that moment, Becca could not recall a single thing she learned about him in their time together that anyone else would want to read about.

“That’s great,” Becca said unenthusiastically.

“Maybe you’d like to read it sometime,” he said.

“I would really, really not,” she said.

Just then, Andy walked up and joined them.

“Hey, Bex,” she said, “We should probably go find Vanessa.”

Andy nodded at Kevin.  They turned away without saying a word to him and disappeared into the crowd.

“Thank you,” Becca said.

“Is it possible that he’s gotten even more pretentious?” Andy said.

“Literally anything is possible,” Becca said, “Donald Trump is president.”

Writing Goal Updates

It was another bad writing week.  This was the only thing I worked on, but only writing a couple hundred words is better than not writing anything at all.  I’m setting myself a goal of 500 words a day again.  I should be able to do it as long as I can find a way to stay focused.

 

Leave a Reply

