Wordbound · Writing

Wordbound Week 11

This week’s Wordbound prompt was:   Write a scene inspired by something a character cannot see.  I thought it would fit right in where I left off with my short story last week.

An Excerpt

Becca, Vanessa, and Andy walked a few blocks to another bar.

“Seriously?” Vanessa said, “Here?”

“Yep,” Becca said, “The owners hate each other.  They’ve been in competition for years.  Kevin told me all about it.”

Andy groaned.

“Do you think he’s in there?” she said, “Do you want to wait out here?”

“No,” Becca said, “Let’s just go in, find the next clue, and get out of here.”

They walked into the bar and scanned the room, searching for any sign of their next clue.

“I don’t see anything,” Andy said, “It could be anywhere.”

“At least there’s no sign of Kevin,” Vanessa said.

“Maybe we should split up,” Becca said.

“Wait,” Vanessa said, looking at the first clue again, “It says easy as one, two, three.  So maybe there’s something in a group of three?  And maybe the worst place to be isn’t just the bar.  Maybe it’s the worst place to be in the bar.”

“But where would that be?” Andy said.

“I don’t know,” Vanessa said, “Let’s just start looking.”

They split up and went off in different directions to look for any sign of the clue.  Becca approached the bar just as the door to the kitchen opened and someone walked out.  She froze when she saw who it was and he smiled when he saw her.

“Becca,” he said pleasantly.

“Kevin,” she said, wishing she were anywhere else, “I see you finally grew that mustache.”

Writing Goal Updates

This week was not a good writing week.  I set myself a goal of 500 words a day, but I didn’t meet it.  If it weren’t for this, I probably wouldn’t have written anything at all this week. It’s disappointing because I know I can do a lot better and write a lot more.  It’s not like I was busier than usual.  I just didn’t write that much.  I’m setting myself the same goal for next week, and hopefully I can meet it this time and write a little extra to make up for this week.

Leave a Reply

