Wordbound · Writing

Wordbound Week 7

This week’s Wordbound prompt was: Put a character in an abandoned building or space.  I used it to start a short story I’ve been wanting to write.

An Excerpt

“It’s been completely abandoned for about a year now,” the realtor said.

“Why is that?” April asked.

“Supposedly it’s haunted,” she answered, “We’ve had a bit of trouble selling the place.”

“Do you believe it’s haunted?” April asked, running her hand along the window sill.  The realtor hesitated.

“I don’t know,” she answered, “There have been some strange things happening here over the last couple of years, ever since…”

“Since?” April said.

“Well, I guess I am legally obligated to tell you…” the realtor said, “About five years ago, a young woman was killed here.  Her parents moved away soon after she died.  We’ve had a few people move in since then, but none of them have lasted more than a couple months.”

“What was her name?” April asked.

“Nora Logan,” she answered.

“What happened to her?” April asked.

“She was murdered,” the realtor answered, “Stabbed.  Most people around here think it was her boyfriend, but there was no real evidence against him, so he was never arrested.”

They stood in silence as April stared out the window and watched the neighbor across the street get his mail.

“I’ll take it,” April said.

Writing Goal Updates

I didn’t write much this week, but I worked a little bit on both of my projects and this short story.  I was distracted this week and didn’t actually follow my daily word count goals, but I’m going to try again this week.  I think that’s definitely a step in the right direction to keep me writing, but it’s just so hard to concentrate lately with the constant stream of terrible news.

2 thoughts on “Wordbound Week 7

  1. Whoa, cool beginning. I definitely didn’t expect her to be interested in purchasing the place after learning about its history (I would have ran for my life). Makes me wonder if she’s a detective or ghost hunter or something along those lines that would cause her to be interested in a haunted house like this.

    Good luck with keeping up with your daily word count 😁

    Like

Leave a Reply

