Wordbound · Writing

Wordbound Week 4

This week’s Wordbound prompt was: What is your favorite word?  Write a scene around that word.  The first word I thought of was opalescent.  I think it could have worked in either of the two ongoing stories I’m working on, but I had an idea for a short story instead and it definitely helped me work out some things I’ve been dealing with this week.  I don’t have the full story finished well enough that I feel comfortable sharing it, but here’s part of it.

An Excerpt

As Evanna approached the light, she saw that it was coming from a small flower on the ground.  She stopped just in front of it when it suddenly shot into the air, coming to rest at her eye level.  She stared in surprise at the flower floating in front of her, its petals shimmering in different shades of pink and yellow as it moved.  Evanna was scared.  She knew she should probably just leave it alone.  But something told her she should reach out to it.  She slowly lifted her hand toward the light and gently touched the glowing petals.  At her touch, the flower slowly began to move forward.  Evanna stood still as it moved a few feet, then stopped, seemingly waiting for her to catch up.

Writing Goal Updates

This week was really rough.  I’ve had a problem staying focused on one story long enough to actually make progress, so, one of my writing goals for the year was to choose the three stories that I was most excited about to work on.  And now I’ve narrowed it down to two. The first two are ideas I’ve had for a long time and keep coming back to.  They both involve people fighting for what’s good and what’s right and it makes a lot more sense to me right now to just work on those two stories.

The third, the one I’m giving up for now, was just supposed to be silly and happy and funny and I just can’t do it right now.  And thanks to this project, I know I’m not alone in this feeling.  It’s just not the story I want to be writing right now.   I had thought it would make me feel better to write something completely removed from all the terrible things going on in the world, but it didn’t.  I would write a single sentence and then stare at my computer with nothing else to say.  I’d still love to write it someday, but right now I need to be writing something that helps me feel more hopeful because I’m so tired of feeling hopeless. I didn’t write nearly as much as I would have liked to this week, but I feel more determined than ever to keep writing.

 

Leave a Reply

