Wordbound · Writing

Wordbound Week 3

This week’s Wordbound prompt was: There is a door.  It is closed.

Once again, I worked the prompt into my fairy tale/fantasy story.

An Excerpt

Leo approached the door and attempted to open it, only to find it locked.  He heard silence fall over the room on the other side.

“It’s Leo,” he announced.  He could hear the noise pick up again and suddenly the door swung open to reveal Sienna wiping sweat from her forehead.

“You’re just in time,” she said, “I think Gideon needs a break.”  Leo looked over her shoulder where Gideon was standing with Ana.

“Always keep your thumb on the outside of the fist,” they heard him say, “It’s much easier to injure it if it’s on the inside.”

Writing Goal Updates

I was a little surprised I actually got any writing done this week considering certain political events that happened, but I actually managed to write two full chapters. Although, the story I worked on does involve a group of young women fighting against a horrible king, so I guess it was pretty appropriate for the situation.  I also managed to finish a basic outline of my fairy tale series and I’m taking a drawing break to write this now.

This week was awful, but it was nice to have my little fantasy world to retreat to, which I have a feeling I’ll be doing a lot of over the next four years when I need a break from things.  And after seeing so many people marching today, I’m feeling more inspired than ever, not just in my writing, but in everything. There are a lot of terrible things going on in the world, but there’s still so much good to see.

Leave a Reply

